Holidays

In the past, as Christmas stuff has crept earlier and earlier in the year, I’ve found myself annoyed. Like, what about Thanksgiving?  Let’s not forget about that!

But this year, I’ve got to admit, I’m actually liking it.  I’m getting excited about holiday stuff this year.  Thanksgiving and Christmas both!

One thing that’s interesting to me is my current mindset towards my diet as the holidays approach.  (Diet in the sense of foods-I-eat, not in the sense of weight loss.)

Last year around this time I began testing my food sensitivities and eventually discovered that eliminating gluten helps improve my IBS symptoms.  I’ve “cheated” a number of times over 2013 and eaten gluten.  But in the past couple of months I realized that I really do prefer how I feel when I’m not eating gluten.

My initial thoughts were that for my birthday, Thanksgiving, and Christmas that I would splurge and allow myself as much gluten as I wanted.  I did have gluten for my birthday, and I enjoyed it.  I also had gluten at the fair, and I really enjoyed it, too.  But since then (about a month now), I’ve been gluten free.  And it’s been great!

So I’m thinking about not going gluten-crazy at Thanksgiving and Christmas.  I’m even thinking about avoiding the gluten completely!  When I think about the foods I love at these times, the only thing I can think of that can’t be made gluten free (like making the gravy with cornstarch instead of gravy) is green bean casserole.  French’s french-fried onions are DELICIOUS.  I’ve found some recipes in which you make your own g-free onions and then continue with a g-free recipe, but I’m not really interested in doing that (at least not this year).

So, with moderation in mind, I think I’ll aim to eat gluten free for everything at Thanksgiving except for the green bean casserole.  I have a feeling if I don’t overload my system with gluten, I will have few issues.  It’s something I want to try.  And I really really really like green bean casserole.  =)

After that, I’ll decide what I want to do about Christmas.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

